Preview: Busy day as Egypt eyes medals in handball, karate

Ahram Online , Wednesday 4 Aug 2021

World number 2 Ali El-Sawy will bid for a karate medal while Egypt's handball team will be seeking to reach the final at the expense of European powerhouses France

ali sawy

The Egyptian delegation will have a busy day on Thursday, with karate fighters and Pentathlon players in action for the first time and the handball team taking on France in a mouthwatering semi-final clash.

In Athletics, Mostafa Hassan will play in the final of the men's shot put after his superb show on Tuesday, having sealed progress with a throw of 21.23 meters, finishing third out of 16 participants in Group A.

He will feature in the final at 04:05 Cairo time (02:05 GMT).

World number 2 Ali El-Sawy will bid for a karate medal when he faces Japan's Naoto Sago, Turkey's Eray Samdan, Azerbaijan's Firdovs Farzaliyev and Darkhan Assadiliv of Kazakhstan in the men's Kumite -67kg elimination round (Pool A). He starts his contests at 05:05 Cairo time (03:05 GMT).

In the women's event, Radwa Sayed  will face Kazakhstan's Moldir Zhangyrbay, Ukraine's Anzhelika Terliuga, Japan's Miho Miyahara and Austrian Bettina Plank respectively in the Kumite -55kg elimination round (Pool B).

She will play at 10:00 Cairo time (08:00 GMT).

At 06:00 Cairo time, pentathlon duo Amira Kandil and Haidi Adel will start the women's fencing ranking round, while Ahmed El-Guendy and Ahmed Hamed will feature in the men's event at 09:30 Cairo time (07:30 GMT).

The handball team, the first African side to reach the last four, will be eyeing a historic place in the final when they meet France at 10:00 Cairo time (08:00 GMT).

Freestyle wrestlers Diaa Eldin Kamal (125kg) and Amr Ramadan (74kg) will play in the round of 16 of the men's event.

Kamal will have a tough mission against Georgia's Geno Petriashvili, who won the bronze medal at the 2016 Olympic Games, at 11:00 Cairo time while Ramadan will take on Polish Kamil Rybicki 15 minutes later.

Check Team Egypt squad

Check Team Egypt schedule and results 

(For more sports news and updates, follow Ahram Online Sports on Twitter at @AO_Sports and on Facebook at AhramOnlineSports.)

Short link: